For those who are on gluten-free diet, gluten-free soy sauce is the alternative to traditional soy sauce which contain wheats. Due to the increasing demand for gluten free products, you can easily find gluten free soy sauces in the market.
One of the main brands that offer gluten-free soy sauces is Kikkoman USA. The picture above shows the 3 main sauces they offer: gluten-free soy sauce, gluten-free tamari soy sauce, and gluten-free less sodium tamari sauce. The regular gluten-free soy sauce tastes just like ordinary soy sauce.
Ingredients in Gluten Free Soy Sauce
Instead of wheat, the gluten-free soy sauce is made from rice, soybeans, rice and salt. It is preservative-free.
The less sodium soy sauce is slightly sour, so it’s more suitable for making dressing, and I personally don’t recommend to replace the regular soy sauce.
You can find these various versions of gluten-free soy sauces at the Asian aisle in major grocery stores, including Target, Walmart, Whole Foods or your local large retailers. You can also purchase them online.
With the gluten-free option, you can make your own homemade ponzu sauce, which is a delightful dressing to go with many Japanese dishes.
For more delicious gluten free recipes, please click here.